TOP 10 THRIFT STORE TIPS

11 Sep

Let’s jump right in. You’re in the mood to pop some tags, but you don’t want to waste your time. You walk in to a musty store and think nothing good can come out of this. Well…you may be right, but if you follow these tips, you might be surprised.

 

 

TOP 10 THRIFT STORE TIPS!

HOW TO PURCHASE A NEW WARDROBE FOR LESS THAN $100, IN AS LITTLE AS 2 HOURS!

For this experiment, I allowed myself a budget of $100 (At a thrift store?! Yep, and I’ll tell you why in tip #4) and 2 hours. That’s it. Any more time and you’ll smell like a giant moth ball. You can check out the entire haul and lookbook of everything I bought and how it looked at the end of this article.

 

#1. Prepare the night before.

Check your Pinterest, where you have stored up your fashion ideas. You can check out my style board here. Get re-inspired, so that tomorrow, you can be on the lookout for some  of those key items.

#2. Wear a dress.

That’s right (ladies) wear your simplest dress, that is easy to take on and off. You will be trying on a lot of clothes! Wear simple wedges. This will give you height so whether you are trying on skirts or jeans, you’ll be lifted and cute.

#3. Don’t forget to wear your makeup?

I know, it sounds vain, but nothing looks good on you when you are a frumpilicious mess. This is high fashion fun. Ok, maybe not high fashion. Store your mimosa in your purse. You want to look in the mirror and feel pulled together.

#4. Get a cart!

You’re going to pick up every possibility, so give your arms a break. You’re only picking up clothes on this trip. Leave the gravy boat for next time. $100 goes a long way at a thrift store. With a big budget in mind, you won’t have to add up as you go, so put anything and everything that might work in your cart.

#5. Go with what you know.

Don’t waste your time looking at things, you know you don’t wear. My favorite thrift store divides clothing by color. Sweet. I know I look deathly in cream, most oranges, reds, and pinks, so I pass right on to greens, greys, blacks, whites, blues, and purples. I can’t wear anything that isn’t cotton. It’s sad, but I can’t. I sweat too much, so I don’t bother even trying it on.

#6. Avoid anything from Old Navy if you can help it.

This is second hand clothing. Guess what, the original owner of that Old Navy t-shirt already gave it a run for it’s money. Sometimes there’s an exception, as you’ll see in my haul. Look over your items carefully. There is NO reason to buy anything that is not in tip top shape. See pilling or stains? Leave it.

#7. GO ALONE!

This should be tip #1, but I got excited. This means no kids or friends or people to tell you what looks good or not. This is about efficiency. You’re on a mission. In fact, while strolling the aisles it’s best to not even be distracted by other shoppers. Throw in your ear buds and jam while you sort.

#8. Try new things.

This is your chance to try on something different. Now, don’t go crazy and put on something like this! Take yourself out of your norm and get creative. Worst case scenario, you’ll be out $2, but hey you tried. Of course, have limits!

#9. Try on everything!

Half way through your shopping experience. Stop. Make your way to the dressing room and start trying on every item. For this trip, I probably tried on 37 items the first time in the dressing room. Make two piles. Yes and no. Now, go back to the racks and do it some more.

#10. Bring a calculator.

Your cart looks like the arm chair in your bedroom when you’re done getting ready. Piled high and spilling over. Other patrons are eyeing your strange behavior and you don’t care because you’re FABULOUS! Start adding. Pay attention to the “sale of the day”. Green tags 50% off? “Senior citizen day? Call your grandma to come check you out. Nah, leave Granny at home. You can afford this. Where else can you get this many clothes for $68? That’s right. My entire haul cost me only $68!

Okay, you’ve made your selections. You’re giddy with your deals and ready to check out. Take off your hangers to speed up the process in line. One you get home, take your time removing your tags. Most thrift stores in my area, staple them on. Go slowly! Wash your items before use!

Congratulations! Now, put your feet up and drag that mimosa out of your purse. You did it. With the money you saved, you can buy your accessories. That’s my style. I love to change up my clothes often, so I don’t mind thrifting. It allows me to expand my style horizons. I spend more money on things that are going to stick around for a while. Shoes, jewelry, and makeup. That way, I can get a well rounded look for less.

 

 

If you found this blog helpful, please share it with your friends. I’d love to meet them too!

 

 

11 Responses to “TOP 10 THRIFT STORE TIPS”

  1. Norma Hess September 15, 2014 at 9:20 PM #

    You are a savvy shopper! I haven’t scored such cute stuff at our local thrift store but I honestly haven’t put that much effort into either. You’ve inspired me to try your tips! Thanks for sharing!

    • hinoonvlog September 15, 2014 at 11:00 PM #

      Well you know, it’s hit and miss. Check back if you go and let me know how it went!

  2. Kris September 16, 2014 at 10:53 AM #

    i have never been a thrift shop person but this was interesting. I would have never guess that one would have to put some much time and thought into going to a thrift store. Maybe that’s my problem : )

    • hinoonvlog September 20, 2014 at 8:29 AM #

      Hey Kris! Thanks for reading and sorry for my delay. WordPress wouldn’t let me reply for some reason. Anyway……Thrifting is so fun, but I admit it took me a while to really get into looking for clothes because it just seemed overwhelming and there are some gnarly stores out there! LOL. Hope you give it a try.

  3. Sara Howe September 17, 2014 at 7:53 PM #

    Stopping by with some Bloggy Mommy love!! I wish we had decent Thrift Stores around here…there’s NOTHING 😦

    • hinoonvlog September 20, 2014 at 8:30 AM #

      Sara! Thanks for stopping by and I apologize about the delay. I was having trouble replying on WordPress for some reason. I really appreciate you reading. Bummer that you don’t have good stores. It took me a while to find the ones I like, but I live in a metro, so there are more options. ❤

  4. K. Elizabeth @ YUMMommy September 18, 2014 at 1:30 PM #

    I do enjoy thrift shopping. It’s always nice to see what I’ll find.

    • hinoonvlog September 20, 2014 at 8:31 AM #

      It’s it fun?!!! It can also be funny. Sorting through some crazy clothes that you can’t imagine how they were ever the style. Thanks so much for reading. I appreciate it.

  5. Cinella September 19, 2014 at 10:34 PM #

    OMG! That is FABULOUS! I always try to find gems, but it’s hard, i’m not very good with fashion 😦 But I try!
    Love from Blogging Mommy Meetup

    • hinoonvlog September 20, 2014 at 8:32 AM #

      Hey Cinella! Good to see you back. I wouldn’t say I’m good with fashion either, I just allow myself to try new things when I go thrifting. I feel like you can get away with it, when you aren’t spending much. Thanks for reading! ❤

  6. msdiaperd September 21, 2014 at 9:22 PM #

    YUP! You’re my girl! I love thrift shopping! #BLOGMA

Lemme know

